Rick Rickman Conquers Whynot For First PRO Late Model Series Win

Go down

Rick Rickman Conquers Whynot For First PRO Late Model Series Win

Post  tennesseeracefan on 2010-06-02, 05:16

Rick Rickman Conquers Whynot For First PRO Late Model Series Win

Meridian, Mississippi (05/29/10) – Rick Rickman raced to his biggest win of the 2010 season on Saturday night at Whynot Motorsports Park in Meridian, Mississippi as he conquered the P.R.O. Dirt Car Series and the NeSmith Super Dirt Car co-sanctioned event.

Despite threatening skies, a stellar field of thirty-five Super Late Models entered the $2,000 to win event at the Rodney Wing owned facility. Jason Cliburn registered the fastest qualifying lap in time trials to pick up the Southern Belle Pole Position for the 40 lap feature. Cliburn was joined by Klint Byars on the front row for the feature event.

It was Cliburn, who got the jump at the drop of the green flag with Byars, Brian Rickman, and Rick Rickman in tow. Early in the event Cliburn and Brian Rickman would swap the lead before Rick Rickman joined the fray and made a daring slide job on his brother, Brian, to take over the top spot. Rick Rickman would never relinquish it.

Rick Rickman took the $2,000 win with tenth starting, Dane Dacus finishing second. A last lap melee shook up the final rundown with 5th running Brian Rickman getting the worst of the accident as his car was crippled in turn three coming to the checkered flag. The balance of the top five at the finish line consisted of Jason Cliburn, David Breazeale, and Klint Byars.

Brian Rickman was the recipient of the GRT Race Cars Hard Luck Award after running in the top five for the duration of the event only to be caught in a melee in the final corner on the final lap.

Dane Dacus was the recipient of the American Race Tires Hard Charger Award for advancing more positions ( than any other driver in the main event.

The P.R.O. Dirt Car Series and NeSmith Super Dirt Car Series were scheduled to be in action on Sunday, May 30th at Magnolia Motor Speedway, but heavy early morning rains forced the cancellation of the event.

The P.R.O. Dirt Car Series and NeSmith Super Dirt Car Series will once again co-sanction a race this Friday, June 4th as they invade Central Mississippi Speedway in Winona, Mississippi for the 1st Annual Jerry Inmon Classic. For more information on the event, please visit www.PRODirtCarSeries.com, www.NeSmithRacing.com, and www.CMSDirt.com .

The P.R.O. Dirt Car Series would also like to thank their newest sponsor, XS Power Batteries based in Knoxville, Tennessee. They will be providing a $250 product certificate to a racer at the season ending banquet. For more information on XS Power Batteries, please visit www.XSPowerBatteries.com .

The P.R.O. Super Late Model Series would to like to thank all of their sponsors including NeSmith, Southern Belle, Hoosier Race Tire, American Race Tire, DBR Starters, MRC Racing Collectables, GRT Race Cars, MSRMafia.com, Maximum Signs & Graphics, ADP Rivet, Stealth Carburetors, XS Power Batteries, and MidSouthRacing.com .

For more information on the P.R.O. Dirt Car Series, please visit www.ProDirtCarSeries.com and for more information on the NeSmith Super Dirt Car Series, please visit www.NeSmithRacing.com .

P.R.O. Dirt Car Super Late Model Series
NeSmith Super Dirt Car Super Late Model Series
Whynot Motorsports Park (Meridian, MS)
May 29th, 2010

Feature Results
1. Rick Rickman (Columbus, Mississippi)
2. Dane Dacus (Lakeland, Tennessee)
3. Jason Cliburn (Star, Mississippi)
4. David Breazeale (Four Corners, Mississippi)
5. Klint Byars (Carrolton, Mississippi)
6. Chad Thrash (Meridian, Mississippi)
7. Jeremy Broadus (Biloxi, Mississippi)
8. Ronny Lee Hollingsworth (Northport, Alabama)
9. Brian Rickman (Columbus, Mississppi)
10. Rodney Wing (Meridian, Mississippi)
11. Jimbo McDuffie (Meridian, Mississippi)
12. Jeremy Glasgow (Caledonia, Mississippi)
13. Neil Baggett (Shannon, Mississippi)
14. Wade Byars (Carrolton, Mississippi)
15. Greg Dedwylder (Meridian, Mississippi)
16. Bradley Price (Hamilton, Alabama)
17. Mark Dodson (Caledonia, Mississippi)
18. Chase Washington (Houlka, Mississippi)
19. Ray Mauldin (Fulton, Mississippi)
20. Randy Boyd (Meridian, Mississippi)
21. Steve Bryan (Collinsville, Mississippi)
22. Larry Murphy (Meridian, Mississippi)
23. Justin McRee (Woodstock, Alabama)
24. Dean Carpenter (Coldwater, Mississippi)

DNS: Chance Inman, Tody Ratcliff, Stacy Caldwell, Wayne Murphy, Charlie Henderson, Jason Milam, Keith House, Craig Turan, Wiley Williams, Randy King, Leon Henderson

Entries: 35 Representing Three States (AL, MS, TN)
Cautions: 1
Red Flags: 1
Leaders: Jason Cliburn, Brian Rickman, Rick Rickman
Southern Belle Pole Qualifier: Jason Cliburn
MRC Racing Collectibles Smooth Move Award: Rick Rickman
MSRMafia.com Qualifier #1 Winner: Jimbo McDuffie
MidSouthRacing.com Qualifier #2 Winner: Jeremy Glasgow
American Race Tires Hard Charger: Dane Dacus (10th to 2nd)
GRT Race Cars Hard Luck Award: Brian Rickman
DBR Starters 10th Place Award: Rodney Wing
XS Batteries 6th Place Award: Chad Thrash
Hoosier Race Tires Top Performer Award: Rick Rickman
ADP Rivets Clean Pass: Jason Cliburn

Points Champion

Posts : 524
Join date : 2010-01-24
Age : 25
Location : Milan, TN

View user profile

Back to top Go down

Back to top

- Similar topics

Permissions in this forum:
You cannot reply to topics in this forum